Difference between revisions of "Leaving the College"

From CIT Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 28: Line 28:
 
Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon retirement; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.
 
Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon retirement; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.
  
==How to Transfer Data==
+
=How to Transfer Data=
===Using Google Takeout to Download Your Data===
+
==Using Google Takeout to Download Your Data==
 
If you'd like to download a copy of your email messages, saved Drive, Calendar, or Contacts data before your account is removed, please visit the [[Downloading OCApps Data]] page.
 
If you'd like to download a copy of your email messages, saved Drive, Calendar, or Contacts data before your account is removed, please visit the [[Downloading OCApps Data]] page.
  
===Transferring File Ownership===
+
==Transferring File Ownership==
 
If you are the owner of shared calendars or Drive documents, these will be deleted upon your departure. Please make arrangements to transfer ownership of these documents and calendars to another Oberlin account holder.
 
If you are the owner of shared calendars or Drive documents, these will be deleted upon your departure. Please make arrangements to transfer ownership of these documents and calendars to another Oberlin account holder.
  

Revision as of 11:21, 22 April 2016

Account Policies

Graduates

Graduation Dates After 2015

In an effort to help graduates transition to the world outside Oberlin and in accordance with The Oberlin College Strategic Plan 2016–2021, CIT extends the use of your OCApps account beyond graduation.

Your OCApps account will remain active for approximately four years* after graduation. The accounts will be deleted on the Friday before the Commencement, four years after you graduate. You are encouraged to make copies of your data and move all correspondence to a personal email account before that date because once deleted, the data will be completely irretrievable.

This applies only to your OCApps account; it does not apply to Blackboard, VPN, Microsoft Office 365™, Oberlin College Library databases and journals, or other digital resources associated with your ObieID.

Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon graduation; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

*CIT retains the right to terminate your account due to inactivity or violations of the Acceptable Use Policy.

Graduation Dates Prior to 2014

If you graduated in 2014 or earlier, your OCApps account remained active until the Fall Break immediately following your graduation at which point it was deleted and the data is irretrievable. This includes email messages, data in Drive, Calendar, Contacts, and other Google products. Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon graduation; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff Departures

Two weeks prior to your resignation date, you will receive an email letting you know that you'll have 30 days from the date of that email until your account is deleted. Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon departure; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

Retirement

If you are a retiring faculty member or A&PS staff member, you will be sent an email indicating that you may keep your account indefinitely if desired. A response is required within 30 days; if you do not respond during this window, your account will be deleted as per the normal procedure.

OCOPE and UAW retirees will receive an email letting them know that they will have 30 days from the date of that email until their account is deleted.

Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon retirement; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

How to Transfer Data

Using Google Takeout to Download Your Data

If you'd like to download a copy of your email messages, saved Drive, Calendar, or Contacts data before your account is removed, please visit the Downloading OCApps Data page.

Transferring File Ownership

If you are the owner of shared calendars or Drive documents, these will be deleted upon your departure. Please make arrangements to transfer ownership of these documents and calendars to another Oberlin account holder.

Please refer to Google's help documentation for instructions on how to transfer ownership:

Transfer Google File Ownership