Difference between revisions of "Leaving the College"

From CIT Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Account Policies)
Line 2: Line 2:
  
 
===Graduating Students===
 
===Graduating Students===
Your OCApps account will remain active for approximately 1 year after graduation. December 2013 and May 2014 graduates can expect that their accounts will remain active until on or about May 26, 2015. Graduates are encouraged to make copies of their data and move all correspondence to a personal email account before 5:00 PM on May 22, 2015 because after that time, the accounts will be deleted and the data will be irretrievable.
+
Your OCApps account will remain until the Friday before Commencement (Friday, May 20, 2016). Graduates are encouraged to make copies of their data and move all correspondence to a personal email account before that date because after that time, the accounts will be deleted and '''the data will be irretrievable.'''
  
If you graduated prior to 2013, your OCApps remained active until Fall Break following your graduation (typically mid-October) at which point it was deleted and the data is irretrievable. This includes email messages, data in Drive, Calendar, Contacts, and other Google products.
+
If you graduated prior to 2014, your OCApps remained active until Fall Break following your graduation (typically mid-October) at which point it was deleted and the data is irretrievable. This includes email messages, data in Drive, Calendar, Contacts, and other Google products.
  
 
Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon graduation; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.
 
Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon graduation; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

Revision as of 10:22, 21 October 2015

Account Policies

Graduating Students

Your OCApps account will remain until the Friday before Commencement (Friday, May 20, 2016). Graduates are encouraged to make copies of their data and move all correspondence to a personal email account before that date because after that time, the accounts will be deleted and the data will be irretrievable.

If you graduated prior to 2014, your OCApps remained active until Fall Break following your graduation (typically mid-October) at which point it was deleted and the data is irretrievable. This includes email messages, data in Drive, Calendar, Contacts, and other Google products.

Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon graduation; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

Faculty and Staff Departures

Two weeks prior to your resignation date, you will receive an email letting you know that you'll have 30 days from the date of that email until your account is deleted. Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon departure; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

Retirement

When a faculty member or A&PS staff member retires, he or she is sent an email indicating that he or she may keep his account indefinitely if desired. A response is required within 30 days, or his or her account will be deleted as per the normal procedure.

OCOPE and UAW retirees will receive an email letting him or her know that they will have 30 days from the date of that email until their account is deleted.

Your PRESTO account does not get deleted upon retirement; you can continue to access these records indefinitely.

Using Google Takeout to Download Your Data

If you'd like to download a copy of your email messages, saved Drive, Calendar, or Contacts data before your account is removed, please visit the Downloading OCApps Data page.

Transferring File Ownership

If you are the owner of shared calendars or Drive documents, these will be deleted upon your departure. Please make arrangements to transfer ownership of these documents and calendars to another Oberlin account holder.

Please refer to Google's help documentation for instructions on how to transfer ownership:

Transfer Google File Ownership