Difference between revisions of "Clear Browser Cache"

From CIT Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Internet Explorer)
(Internet Explorer 9+)
Line 15: Line 15:
  
 
==Internet Explorer 9+==
 
==Internet Explorer 9+==
#Select Tools (via the Gear Icon) > Safety > Delete browsing history....
+
#Select Tools (via the Gear Icon) > Safety > Delete browsing history.... If the menu bar is hidden, press Alt to make it visible.
If the menu bar is hidden, press Alt to make it visible.
+
 
#Deselect Preserve Favorites website data, and select:
 
#Deselect Preserve Favorites website data, and select:
 
#*Temporary Internet files or Temporary Internet files and website files
 
#*Temporary Internet files or Temporary Internet files and website files

Revision as of 13:56, 22 August 2016

A browser cache (also called "temporary internet files") is a special folder that stores web page elements that a browser thinks it will need again. It could be banners, buttons, icons, advertisement image files, photographs, script files, or even HTML pages. If you access the same page again, your computer does not need to download these elements again, thus speeding up your browsing experience.

Sometimes it becomes necessary to clear your browser's cache to force a webpage to display new elements that have appeared since your last visit to the page.

To clear your browser's cache, follow the instructions below.

Firefox

Visit Mozilla Firefox's How to clear the Firefox cache page for the most up-to-date details on how to clear your cache.

Safari

  1. From the Safari menu, select Preferences.
  2. Click on the Privacy tab.
  3. Click Remove All Website Data...
  4. Click Remove Now

Internet Explorer 9+

  1. Select Tools (via the Gear Icon) > Safety > Delete browsing history.... If the menu bar is hidden, press Alt to make it visible.
  2. Deselect Preserve Favorites website data, and select:
    • Temporary Internet files or Temporary Internet files and website files
    • Cookies or Cookies and website data
    • History
  3. Click Delete. You will see a confirmation at the bottom of the window when the process is complete.
  4. Exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.